New to the Nutmeg State: Wine & Dine Edition

If there is one thing I can confirm in the short month that I’ve lived here, is that Sono (South Norwalk) is a culinary nirvana. Every restaurant I’ve been to have yet to disappoint, and with my new infatuation with GrubHub many of these meals can be enjoyed in the comfort of my new home. When I want to go out and explore downtown Sono I have two mealtime mainstays that ensure me that I chose the right place to call home.

Barcelona Wine Bar

The first time I came here was right after I had spent a week in Barcelona, Spain. Let’s just say that after the many, many fruit-filled glasses of Sangria and fresh assortments of tapas, the bar was set pretty high for the restaurant.  I was not disappointed – this place captured the culture and flavors of Barcelona, without having to mentally convert Euros to dollars when you get the bill. The ingredients were fresh and local, the presentation was gorgeous, and the Sangria was authentic. I have already promised friends and family a meal at Barcelona Wine Bar when they visit.  Barcelona Wine Bar has locations in Washington D.C., Georgia, 6 locations in Connecticut, and 2 in Massachusetts.

Mama’s Boy Southern Table & Refuge

Sundays were made for brunch, and Mama’s Boy serves the best brunch I’ve ever had. Their menu consists of gourmet fare with a southern spin: Chicken Fried Bacon with Shrimp Grits, Lobster Benedict with Grit Cakes, Chicken and Waffles, Fried Chicken Skins with Jalapeno-Pepper Honey, just to name a few. It’s not just the food that makes this place notable; the drinks are also remarkable with a wide-ranging selection, from Green Tomato Bloody Mary’s, Rosemary Maple Bourbon Sours, to Bottomless Mimosas.  Farm fresh ingredients are central, lists of the organic farms used are found at the bottom of the menu.

Are you hungry yet?

What do you think?

